Press

Popsugar’s Best YA Books for Teens & Tweens of 2019

Barnes & Noble’s List of Awesome Debuts

Listening Library will do an audio edition of The Art of Breaking Things! Listening Library is both the largest and most-awarded young readers’ audio publisher in the industry. (August 24, 2018)

Maggie Rosenthal and Leila Sales at Viking have bought, at auction, author Laura Sibson's debut YA novel, The Art of Breaking Things. Some girls can't say "me too" -- even when they need to -- but when aspiring artist Skye worries that her sister is in danger, she must trailblaze her own route and confront her past. Publication is slated for summer 2019; Brianne Johnson of Writers House brokered the two-book deal for North American English rights. (PW Bookshelf, January 25, 2018)

PRAISE for The Art of Breaking Things

“In this moving debut, Sibson has created a flawed and likable narrator who attempts to work through cause and effect, shame and secrecy, avoidance and obligation. With layered nuance, the novel brings to light the impact of sexual assault and the importance of consent.” - Kirkus

“Beautiful debut…heartrending…Perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson.” - Booklist